Jul 3, 2023
Car accidents happen constantly in Southern California, and the number of serious crashes involving either injuries or fatalities is only increasing. In fact, the most recent California car accident statistics confirm that 289 people were killed in motor vehicle crashes through the end of 2021. In terms of the spike in local car accidents, those figures mean:
Additionally, in 2021, 1,465 people were seriously injured in Los Angeles-area car accidents through December 25 of that year.
Under California law, drivers involved in car accidents need to file a report with either the applicable police, sheriff, or highway patrol department within 24 hours when the following occurs:
It should be noted that this law applies broadly to any injury or death sustained by:
Furthermore, a police report is required whenever one or more of the following situations arise:
In short, the only time you may be able to get away with not filing a police report after a California car accident is for an extremely minor fender bender with minimal property damage and zero injuries confirmed (keeping in mind that many motor vehicle collision injuries can show delayed symptoms).
In addition to filing an official report with police, a California car accident involving an injury or death must also be reported to the DMV within 10 days of the incident occurring. But even if no injuries happen in a car accident, a DMV report is required whenever more than $1,000 in property damage occurs. Your DMV report must be submitted within 10 days of the car accident.
The easiest way to report a California car accident is by either:
For a list of local California police and law enforcement agencies, please click here.
Additionally, you can contact the following Southern California-area law enforcement agencies to report your car accident:
In addition to it typically being required under the law, filing a police report can have numerous advantages, particularly if you suffer injuries in the crash:
By obtaining a police report, seeking medical attention, and filing your claim with Dordulian Law Group’s (DLG) Los Angeles car accident attorneys, your case will have the best chance of securing justice as well as maximum financial compensation.
Police reports following car accidents typically include a number of pieces of information:
It’s important to report any car accident to your auto insurance provider as soon as possible after a crash occurs. However, DLG’s Glendale-based car accident lawyers recommend that you be sure to:
Unlike reporting car accidents to the police or DMV, there is technically no deadline for making a report with your insurance company. However, it is recommended that this always be done as soon as possible – preferably immediately after you secure representation with a qualified personal injury lawyer.
After a car accident due to another driver’s negligence, you may be entitled to significant financial compensation for both economic and non-economic damages if you suffered any type of injury – whether minor or catastrophic. Car accident claim damages often include:
A skilled car accident lawyer from DLG can help you navigate the legal process and provide the support and expertise you need to ensure that you recover the justice as well as maximum financial compensation you deserve.
Contact us today by calling 866-GO-SEE-SAM to schedule your free, confidential, and no obligation consultation. If you’ve been injured in a car crash, we’ll only accept your case on a contingency fee basis. This means that you never have to worry about paying anything upfront. There’s no risk to you with DLG’s No Win/No Fee Guarantee – we only accept payment after successfully securing the maximum financial compensation you deserve for your car accident claim.
Ready to file a claim and pursue justice through a financial damages award? Our expert attorneys are available online or by phone now.
Our law firm in Glendale, CA advocates for victims of sexual assault, injury, employment disputes, and personal injury concerns.